Giving it up for Lent

As a recovering Catholic I don’t usually give things up for Lent, but this year I decided some sort of sacrifice was in order. Since it’s been a long, guilt-ridden winter, I signed up for my local diocese’s new aerobic contritioning program–Pontius Pilates.

The one thing you don't want to give up for Lent is cardio!

It’s only been a few weeks, but so far, so good. For the first time in years I’m down to a 1.84 cubit waist, and the enhanced inflexibility is really nice.

According to Father M, my glutes are coming along fine too, but I need a lot more work on my peccatus. I’ll get there; the instructor is a genuflection beast.

The hardest part for me is the supplication…bad knees. Oh, and I look like crap in the workout cilice.

I’m going to keep going until we’re done with flagellation, but I’ll probably quit before they get to the ascetics unit. By then it will be Easter and I’ll be in absolutely fine shape, body and soul.

Sincerely,

The Pilates Reformer.

The preceding was something I wrote a couple years ago in honor of my Catholic upbringing. I’m bringing it back now because I was asked to.

Leave a Reply

