A Rare Sighting, or, Better Lucky than Good

I was on my way to shoot an indoor soccer game last Saturday, when I decided to take a swing through an area that always produces some kind of critter to photograph. I don’t expect to see anything, but rarely am I surprised at what reveals itself. Saturday was an exception. Driving along in my truck, I saw a silhouette atop a small tree. Since the bird was backlit by the dusky sky, I could only tell that it was an owl. I couldn’t see any color until I passed the tree. Lo and behold, a snowy owl. It has been many years since I’ve seen a snowy in this part of Wisconsin. Usually, we only see snowies, and great grays, when the winter is severe, as it is this year. He sat still for about a minute while I took a few shots with the wrong lens, a 70-200 f2.8 lens which is wonderful for indoor sports, not so much for wildlife. But that’s what was on the camera, so that’s what I used. ISO 3200, f2.8,and heavily cropped, but turned out fine for web use, I think. Please feel free to take a look and comment at the link below.

Two of the owl images can be found at our local Patch news site:

Hudson Patch: Snowy Owl Seen in Hudson

Leave a Reply

